Corporation and Trustees

Board of Trustees

  • James H. Hance Jr., chair of the board of trustees, Johnson & Wales University; operating executive, The Carlyle Group, Washington, D.C.
  • Mim L. Runey, LP.D., chancellor, Johnson & Wales University
  • Maribeth N. Bisienere, senior vice president of resorts, transportation and premium services operations; Walt Disney World Resorts, Lake Buena Vista, Florida 
  • Derick S. Close, chief executive officer, Springs Creative Products Group LLC, Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Lorena M. Garcia '00, president and chief executive officer, Lorena Garcia Group, Miami, Florida 
  • Lionel E. LaRochelle II, principal, Spring Valley Hospitality Advisors LLC, Washington, D.C. 
  • M. John Martin ’86, president, The Capital Grille, Eddie V’s, Seasons 52, Yard House and Bahama Breeze; Darden Restaurants, Orlando, Florida
  • William J. Murphy, J.D., partner, Murphy & Fay LLP, Providence, Rhode Island
  • M. Teresa Paiva Weed, J.D., president, Hospital Association of Rhode Island, Providence, Rhode Island
  • Robert J. Palleschi '86, chief executive officer, G6 Hospitality LLC, Carrollton, Texas
  • Philip S. Renaud II ’73, executive director, The Risk Institute in the Fisher College of Business, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio 
  • Merrill W. Sherman, J.D., principal, Sherman Consulting LLC, Jamestown, Rhode Island
  • Clay A. Snyder '93, vice chair of the board of trustees, Johnson & Wales University; senior director of customer engagement, Hilton Supply Management (HSM), McLean, Virginia
  • Shivan S. Subramaniam, retired chairman and chief executive officer, FM Global, Providence, Rhode Island
  • John E. Taylor Jr., managing director, Faulkner & Howe LLC, Vero Beach, Florida
  • Jerry Sue Thornton, Ph.D., president emeritus, Cuyahoga Community College; chief executive officer, Dream Catcher Educational Consulting, Moreland Hills, Ohio
  • D. Chip Wade ’83, president, Union Square Hospitality Group, New York, New York 
  • John Hazen White Jr., executive chairman, Taco Group Holdings Inc., Cranston, Rhode Island
  • David A. Wilson, Ph.D., P’98, independent director, CoreSite Realty Inc., Naples, Florida

Officers of the Corporation

  • Mim L. Runey, LP.D., chancellor
  • Joseph J. Greene Jr. ’89, ’98 M.S., CPA, vice chancellor of finance & administration
  • Emily A. Gilcreast ’19 MBA, university secretary

As of November 2021